Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

August 10, 2012

GUEST OPINION: Iowa Motion Picture Association's View: Time to look to the future.

Knoxville — On July 27, 2012, the Iowa Supreme Court decided the financial records of film companies who received tax incentives should be released to the public. The IMPA is supportive of the law and accepts the judgment of our state's Supreme Court and, therefore, the action by the Attorney General's office to bring to justice those who were unscrupulous.

However, it is important that unintended consequences of this decision be avoided – and that the many skilled crew members, talent, and businesses who worked tirelessly on these projects not be considered “guilty by association.” It is equally important that the legitimacy and credibility of businesses that used the incentives honestly not be tarnished.  

Many industries in Iowa use tax incentives every day.  It is counterproductive to single out one industry for continued criticism – when that industry is composed of many talented and honest members who have never abused any tax incentives -- and who daily provide excellent film, video, graphics and animation services to corporations, small businesses, colleges, universities, independent filmmakers, and ad agencies in the state of Iowa.  Some of these Iowa-located businesses also provide skills needed around the country, including in Los Angeles – and then spend their earnings here in Iowa. 

Iowa film crews, talent and businesses have worked diligently to create high-quality productions utilizing their specific knowledge, skills and abilities before, during, and after the film incentive program. These crews were also composed of small businesses surviving an economy that had entered recession in 2008. Those businesses that have survived in Iowa since both the recession and the film incentive freeze should be commended for adapting to a harsh and critical business environment, not be punished for the actions of those who abused the incentives. 

As the many elements of Iowa’s film industry try to recover,  Iowa needs to support legitimate and credible businesses that will foster 21st century job creation.  In the next decade, the media industry will develop in many new ways not yet fully recognized. We need to ensure that Iowa plays a role in this growing market. We need to develop, cultivate and keep the pioneers and innovators. Students who graduate from our universities and community colleges are also looking for professional opportunities to stay in Iowa and work in film and video production.   

If we can't attract productions with tax incentives, we will continue to attract them with the exceptional abilities of our crew, talent, film, video, graphic design and animation businesses -- and with the support of Iowans. 

Independent film production is happening all over Iowa. It’s time to look toward the future. We should be outstanding in many new fields, as well as corn fields.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Crowds Rally at '420' Celebration in Denver Marathoners Celebrate Easter With Tradition Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results