Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 6, 2014

Adventures in Marriage

Every time I try to ride with my wife in her truck presents a new adventure. I never know what I will have to remove from the passenger seat to make room for myself.

My lady, Marcy, drives a Chevy extended cab. It could hold up to four people, but most of the time, there is only room for one. Her job requires her to work outside, even in these cold, lousy conditions we’ve been seeing since...well, it seems like forever.

To try to keep warm, several layers of clothing find their way into her back seat. They usually stay there throughout the winter and beyond.

Other than the clothes, there are many other things that seem to find a permanent home inside her truck. Potting soil. Planters. Power tools. Animal cages. If you can think of something an outdoorsy-type person, such as my wife can have in their vehicle at all times, chances are it’s in the MarcyMobile.

Her truck obviously handles snowy roads better than my Taurus, so this winter, it has been our primary vehicle. We’ve used it to go shopping, run errands and go out together.

Each time, I have had to remove some stuff from my seat.

We tend to get creative when we shop. She usually places bags on top of the layers of stuff piled up in the back seat. I do the same, and I also put items on the floor. We usually manage to get everything inside, it’s just an adventure.

But that’s what I love about my wife. Every day is a new adventure.

Those are just my adventures with the truck. I have many more stories about my wife’s ability to keep the Shout laundry detergent company in business, how her hands are rougher than mine and much, much more I can share in future columns.

I just hope that your life has its own adventures. Without them, things can get pretty dull. I know I’m never going to get bored in my marriage.

Take care of yourself and thank you for reading.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results