Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 17, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Des Moines —  

 
Traveling throughout Senate District 14 in 2012, I learned a lot about the concerns of my neighbors, their families and many constituents. I listened closely as you shared your burdens of rising property taxes, returning our education system to national prominence and strengthening Iowa’s economy.
 
Since being sworn in Monday as a freshman State Senator, I have received numerous messages from constituents about these same topics and many more such as agriculture and various tax reforms. I am listening, and intend to be your voice in the Iowa Senate.
 
It has been an exciting week as the 2013 Legislative Session kicked off Monday.  Discussions are underway outlining priorities that affect all Iowans. Among those sharing their vision was Governor Terry Branstad, who delivered his annual Condition of the State address.  The good news is that our state is strong and the Governor outlined his three-point plan to help Iowa grow stronger. That plan includes: providing property tax relief, making Iowa’s education system the best in the nation and improving Iowans’ quality of life.
 
Governor Branstad has returned fiscal sanity to Iowa’s budgeting practices. Governor Branstad, through sound fiscal leadership, has filled Iowa’s coffers and continues to create a state budget that spends less than it takes in and protects our rainy day funds.  Like Iowa families, Iowa government has tightened its belt and will continue to live within our means. That sort of responsible leadership is good for all Iowans.
 
These sound budgeting practices will enable us to focus on things like restoring our education system to world class status. I am honored to play a role in how we educate our children. Serving on the Senate Education Committee and Education Appropriations Subcommittee, we will have many discussions in the coming weeks on how to reform education and raise student achievement levels. I am sure you agree; it is vital we move Iowa’s education system forward. I am committed to working through that process to give Iowa’s most valuable resource - our children - the advantage they need to compete in the ever-expanding global economy. When we restructure and enhance Iowa’s education system, we will help produce an environment in which we develop world class students and world class employees for Iowa jobs with Iowa employers.   

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video $15B Deal on Vets' Health Care Reached Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results