Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 25, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Committed to Helping Iowans Keep Their Hard-Earned Money

Des Moines —  

As a parent, I understand the value of sound budgeting practices. In our household, we don’t spend more than we take in because we choose not to bury our family in a pile of preventable debt. This also is a teachable moment for our children. They learn the valuable concept that just because you have a credit card, it doesn’t mean you should spend frivolously.  As we all know, when that credit card bill comes due, it has a significant impact on the family budget.
 
I received a phone call Wednesday from a Lucas County constituent urging me to do everything possible to hold state spending in check. He stressed he makes financial sacrifices in his household, and as elected officials we should exercise the same fiscal restraint. I couldn’t agree more.
 
In fact, I am pleased with the strides Legislative Republicans have made in recent years to help Iowans keep more of their hard-earned money to best use in their household budgets. When Republicans regained control of the Iowa House and the Governor’s Office in 2011, Iowans were burdened with one of the largest spending gaps in state history. 
 
It was projected in fiscal year 2012 spending outpaced projected revenues by more than $1 billion.  Remember, that credit card bill eventually comes due, and as taxpayers it is completely unacceptable to expect you to cover the tab for reckless state spending.
 
With the looming spending gap, Governor Branstad and Legislative Republicans implemented responsible budgeting principles and exercised sound fiscal discipline.  Those efforts have resulted in a healthy projected ending balance for this current fiscal year of more than $800 million. I have received numerous emails and several calls from constituents regarding this budget surplus, and let me say I understand that the money is not ours – it’s yours. This is hard-working Iowans’ money collected through over-taxation.  This money must be returned to the people.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Biden Talks Economy and Civil Rights Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results