Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 7, 2013

Another View

Helping Our Governor Think

Knoxville —  

My recent trip to the Capitol revealed surprises:  Iowa wants clean water but has the fox guarding the chickens there, and even more amazing – our Governor wants Iowa to become the healthiest state but he rejects the expanded Medicaid that our federal government offers!

Instead, he encourages more exercise and healthier diets.  

Governor, I need lots of inspiration in that direction, but that won’t help when appendicitis or heart failure threatens. I need health care!  You needed health care when you were rushed to the hospital for emergency heart surgery a few years ago.  And the Affordable Care Act (ACA) would provide health care to nearly 150,000 more Iowans who can’t afford it now.  Governor, you want a healthier state and you turn away a complete health care plan for 150,000 of us? 

You want more doctors – but they will have to be paid.  

You are concerned about keeping Iowa and Iowans fiscally sound.  So listen up.  Expanded Medicaid not only gives us $30,000,000 in health care coverage (and 90 percent of that in future years) but saves us from paying for the uninsured's emergency room treatment.   That is the most expensive AND the least effective medical care – no follow up and no prescription drugs.   Without Medicaid expansion, all that emergency care will be paid for by us!   Yes, emergency room costs add to hospital costs which are added to the insurance costs for those of us who can pay. It’s estimated that sharing this uncompensated care now adds from $1,000 to $1,200/year to insurance costs for a family of four.

Even worse, without the Medicaid insurance we miss out on what really could make us the healthiest state – preventive care.  That would encourage healthier lifestyles, give periodic check ups, and prevent the spread of communicable disease.  My child’s cancer might well be noticed before it becomes an inoperable tumor leading to early death.  Preventive care costs less!  

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results