Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 7, 2013

The SInclair Report

Des Moines —  

There has been a lot of buzz following Sunday’s Big Game about the moving ad featuring Paul Harvey’s “Farmer” commercial. To my family, neighbors, friends and the thousands of Iowans who support their families through agriculture, let me thank you for helping make Iowa such a great place to live.

There were a lot of great commercials, and it truly was an exciting game. This year’s Super Bowl had special meaning for a lot of my neighbors in Wayne County. I want to personally congratulate former Wayne Community High School and Drake University football standout and Baltimore Ravens tight end coach Wade Harman on being a Super Bowl Champion.

The Super Bowl taught us a couple important lessons. When we work together, it is possible to accomplish great things; and despite the circumstances, never give up when facing adversity.

I pledge to you not to give up on my fight to reduce the tax burden on all Iowans. Though it wasn’t as exciting as this year’s Super Bowl finish, Iowa taxpayers won a small victory this week in the Iowa Senate. We came together as an entire body to unanimously vote in favor of a bill that would help every Iowa taxpayer by coupling the Iowa tax laws with the federal tax laws.

Proceeding in a timely fashion on this bill was important to Iowans. I was proud to cast my support for the bill, and will continue to fight for opportunities to provide tax relief for hard-working Iowans. It is our job at the Statehouse to reduce the tax burden and enable citizens to keep more of their hard-earned money.

One topic that the entire Senate does not agree upon is the importance of the Property Assessment Appeals Board. Some in the Senate would like to see the board end. The board is a vital resource created for the sole purpose of establishing a consistent, fair and equitable property assessment appeal process. This board is set to end on July 1, 2013, unless the Legislature passes legislation to keep it intact.  Allowing the board to sunset would be a disservice to Iowans.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results