Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 6, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Des Moines —  

If your annual disposable family income was $100,000, would you dare to spend $111,000 every year? The reasonable answer would be no because common sense dictates that over a period of time your family could not sustain that kind of over-spending.

I shared repeatedly the need for fiscal responsibility in the 12 months prior to becoming a State Senator. My feeling on that topic has not wavered since taking my oath in January. We have begun budget discussions, and let’s just say the Senate Democrats are continuing down the path of over-spending. Did you know in the last six years, the budget of Iowa, passed by the legislature, has increased by a third?  According to U.S. Census figures, the median income in Iowa has risen just 13 percent over that same period.  

If our government is spending 33 percent more and collecting 13 percent more from folks then the way I see it one budget line item that likely will be going up is for purchasing 55-gallon barrels of red ink.

The Senate Democrat budget spends 11 percent more than last year - roughly $100 million more than the state takes in on an ongoing basis.  In addition, their budget uses one-time money for ongoing programs. The Senate Democrat budget and long-range plan to grow the footprint of government is irresponsible and unsustainable and not a sound plan for Iowa.

The Revenue Estimating Conference met recently to discuss the state’s financial situation. Senate Republicans were encouraged by the announcement that revenue estimates were up to $6.87 billion for FY 2014; however, I urge fiscal restraint on budgetary practices and caution against growing government by irresponsibly spending the excess revenue.

I believe excess revenue is an over-collection of taxes.  I would like to see any over-collection of taxes returned to Iowa’s hard-working families, either directly or through addressing deteriorating infrastructure that will prevent property and fuel taxes from skyrocketing.  Excess revenue should not be spent on new programs or expanding old ones.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Russell Simmons, LL Cool J Visit Youth at Jail Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian US, UN Announce Deal on Gaza Cease-Fire Despite Moratorium, Detroit Water Worries Remain Faith Leaders Arrested at DC Deportation Protest Family Dispute Cripples Northeast Grocery Chain CDC Warns Travelers Amid Ebola Outbreak US Stocks Plunge, Wiping Out July's Gains Demoted Worker Shoots CEO, Kills Self Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: 2 Hurt in NY Trench Collapse House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results