Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Our initial reaction to Pearl Harbor

Knoxville —  

Editor’s note: Today, Friday, Dec. 7, 2012, marks the 71st anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. The following is an excerpt from the Knoxville Journal editorial of Dec. 11, 1941. 

We are at war! A treacherous and powerful enemy has attacked us, fired upon our flag, invaded our distant territories, crippled our ships and fortifications, injured and killed thousands of our sailors and soldiers, and brought the threats of bombs to the very gateways of our Pacific coast.

We are indeed at war - a war that is certain to bring fierce struggle, not from one foe alone, but several. It is time that we acted the part of a people thus endangered.

That “we doesn’t mean the government, which has for months been moving at high speed to prepare for just such situation as the nation now faces. It means “we, the people,” the men and women in this community, in other communities everywhere. 

We have, it is true, thought about war, talked about war, but chiefly as a subject of conversation about a thing far away across oceans, and not as a fact of close concern to us. The time for that sort of thing has gone by and the time for whole-hearted patriotic action has come. We need to fly our flags, join in every task that is set us for aiding defense, and dig into our pockets for every dime or dollar that we can give to support the needs of our country’s defense. 

The job ahead is not one only for the men who enlist and go away to fight, but for every man and woman of us who stays at home. And it’s not an incidental job for any of us; it’s a job that ranks first. 

Japan

Japan’s sudden and smashing attack upon Pearl Harbor in Hawaii, Manila in the Philippines and several vital smaller islands between these outposts was treacherous, dastardly. Of that there is little doubt. The plan must have been set up and all movements of battleships, airplanes and their carriers must have been made while Japanese envoys were on their way to Washington, bearing the white flag of peace. It could not have been otherwise.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Obama: 8 Million Healthcare Signups Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results