Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Our initial reaction to Pearl Harbor

Knoxville —  

Editor’s note: Today, Friday, Dec. 7, 2012, marks the 71st anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. The following is an excerpt from the Knoxville Journal editorial of Dec. 11, 1941. 

We are at war! A treacherous and powerful enemy has attacked us, fired upon our flag, invaded our distant territories, crippled our ships and fortifications, injured and killed thousands of our sailors and soldiers, and brought the threats of bombs to the very gateways of our Pacific coast.

We are indeed at war - a war that is certain to bring fierce struggle, not from one foe alone, but several. It is time that we acted the part of a people thus endangered.

That “we doesn’t mean the government, which has for months been moving at high speed to prepare for just such situation as the nation now faces. It means “we, the people,” the men and women in this community, in other communities everywhere. 

We have, it is true, thought about war, talked about war, but chiefly as a subject of conversation about a thing far away across oceans, and not as a fact of close concern to us. The time for that sort of thing has gone by and the time for whole-hearted patriotic action has come. We need to fly our flags, join in every task that is set us for aiding defense, and dig into our pockets for every dime or dollar that we can give to support the needs of our country’s defense. 

The job ahead is not one only for the men who enlist and go away to fight, but for every man and woman of us who stays at home. And it’s not an incidental job for any of us; it’s a job that ranks first. 

Japan

Japan’s sudden and smashing attack upon Pearl Harbor in Hawaii, Manila in the Philippines and several vital smaller islands between these outposts was treacherous, dastardly. Of that there is little doubt. The plan must have been set up and all movements of battleships, airplanes and their carriers must have been made while Japanese envoys were on their way to Washington, bearing the white flag of peace. It could not have been otherwise.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message $5M Bond Set for Teens in Homeless Killings New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Obama Calls for Immediate Access to Crash Site Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Native American Teens Get Taste of College Legendary Actor James Garner Dies Raw: Eric Garner's Wife Collapses at Rally in NY
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results