Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 6, 2014

Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers

To the Editor:

I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers’ comments in her opinion piece “Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa” in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today’s agriculture compared to the drug trade.

The reference came from an incident reported by an instructor at the University of Northern Iowa in a discussion he facilitated. The summary of the group’s feelings were that “commodity agriculture” and “the network of global corporations that make it work” were paralleling the drug trade business in its effect on the citizens of our country.

To make this donation understandable, we must realize that all agriculture is about commodities. In this sense of the word, a commodity is an unprocessed, or partially processed, good such as grain, fruit vegetable, or a precious metal (Random House Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary). The key is that it includes not only corn and soybeans, but things such as wheat, rice, potatoes, onions, peas, beans, grapes, apples, cotton, lumber, iron ore and so forth. It is what we eat, wear, live in, drive and otherwise use in our daily lives.

I am not sure about the context of global corporations as used here. Global corporations are involved in our everyday lives in many ways. We depend on them for clothes (think Nike), cars (GM), fuel (Exxon-Mobil), drugs (Mercke) and food (Tyson and Del Monte, just to name two). We shop at a global corporation (Walmart) for many of these things. My point is that much of what we eat or use is touched by a global corporation. In agriculture, we also depend upon global corporations for seed, fertilizers, chemicals, fuel and farm machinery.

But if the context of global corporations is that they are controlling the land resources and producing the raw goods, as well as processing them, this is not the reality today. Let me use Marion County as an example for what I am trying to say. The 2007 Census of Agriculture indicates we have about 950 farms in our county. Some of them may be organized in a corporate business structure, but an examination of this ownership will show that they are family corporations and the families work the land. No global corporations are registered as farmers in Marion County. I suspect that is largely true throughout our country.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message $5M Bond Set for Teens in Homeless Killings New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Obama Calls for Immediate Access to Crash Site Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results