Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 21, 2014

21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo

I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo.

I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course – and couldn’t remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple “anti-itch liquid” or should I get the works, “2 in 1 Shampoo and Conditioner, Ocean Change”? Afraid of sea sickness, I moved on. Wrong way. I was in the men’s section. Would anyone care if I got shampoo “just for men” – for “light brown,” “medium brown,” or “dark brown.” Since there was no silver gray, I returned to the female shelves where I belonged.

I could get “dandruff shampoo” or “therapeutic shampoo” or “herbal essences touchably smooth.” Hmm. Who’s touching? Would my husband like that? There was “hello hydration” or lisses tante la journee” whatever that means. I liked “color me happy” more. But then I would deprive myself of “tealight fully clear hydralicious, self-targeting shampoo” – “tealightful” promised adventure, but “self-targeting” is too violent for my tender head.

Maybe “sleeker the beeker” or “none of your frizziness” or just plain “shine collection brilliance.” I liked the thought of “conditioner for a tousled look” – except I have a tousled look without shampoo. “Citrus mint” – but I’m not going to eat it. So maybe one of the B’s – “b-leve,” “b-refresher,” “b-tranquil,” or “b-voluptuous.” Overwhelmed by indecision I went on, only to find “b-hydrated” and “b-vibrant!” Decision was even tougher, so I tried another shelf: “pantene dry to moisturizer” or “tresemme – used by professionals, anti breakage, deep cleanser for hair prone to build-up.” Build up of what? Do I have it? Is it good or bad?

“Suave naturals longer lasting fragrance” – certainly I would want the fragrance to last – if I liked the fragrance. Maybe “damage care, 2X more moisturizing with 100% natural rosemary mint.” 2X more moisturizing than what? Drowning might be a serious risk though with all that moisturizing.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Biden Talks Economy and Civil Rights Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results