Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 29, 2012

McKinley's Memos

More Money? Yes. More Spending? No.

Des Moines —  

Question: If you get an additional, somewhat significant, sum of money into your bank account, what is the course of action you would take regarding that new money?
 
 
 
Answers:
 
A)   Spend it immediately on a big new purchase or expensive vacation and worry about future budgets at a later date.
 
B)    Put the money into the savings account or retirement fund not knowing when those extra resources may be needed in the future.
 
 
 
Here’s why the question matters:
 
 
 
Late last week, Iowa’s three-person Revenue Estimating Conference (REC) increased the state’s revenue projections for the upcoming year by approximately $80 million dollars, driven largely by Iowa’s strong agriculture economy.
 
 
 
That number is certainly not an insignificant amount of anticipated revenue for our state but the question remains, what should be done with it?
 
 
 
If you answered A – you are philosophically more in line with legislative Democrats who are advocating opening up the checkbook in order to approve added spending for more government projects.
 
 
 
If you answered B – you are philosophically more in line with the Iowa Senate Republicans, who believe now is the time to use fiscal restraint and save for the future.
 
 
 
Here’s Iowa’s fiscal situation in a nutshell:
 
 
 
ü  Iowa’s state budget is approximately $6 billion dollars
 
ü  Iowa also gets about $6 billion dollars from the federal government bringing total spending to approximately $12 billion dollars annually
 
ü  Iowa is just coming off having a near $1 billion dollar deficit created during the previous governor’s administration and a Democrat controlled Senate and House
 
 
 
Given what we know about Iowa’s current fiscal situation (which is now finally back on solid footing) and given what we know about the federal government’s fiscal condition (jaw-dropping deficit spending and trillions of dollars in debt), wouldn’t it make more sense to adopt a careful and responsible approach to state budgeting?

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Officials Unsure of UCLA Flood Repair Date At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results