Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 29, 2012

Another View

Washington, D.C.-The Kind City

Knoxville —  

 

I surprise myself with this title.  Here’s how it happened.  My husband and I wanted to visit D.C. and could afford to stay there only because a friend of a friend volunteered, “You can stay here.”

 

We didn’t realize how outrageously kind that was until we arrived and saw that he had moved out of his bedroom to a much smaller room so we would have ample space.  He moved with equal speed to get a sticker for our car so we could park on his street.

 

We had arrived – by chance – during cherry blossom time, plus spring school break, which brought an extra million or so tourists.  The real challenge though came because Washington seems designed as a city for mass transit, bicycle, taxi, and walking.  Wonderful – unless you have a car and need to park. 

 

So we bravely explored the bus system.  That’s when I realized the word for our Washington visit was “kind.”  Yes, I mean “kind” like considerate, compassionate, and helpful.  One bus-driver after another patiently took time to tell us how to catch the next bus. 

 In our brief visit we could see only one of our Senators, and chose the one we hadn’t seen recently, Senator Harkin.  We found his Wednesday morning breakfast a fine buffet, with staff members who kindly learned our interests while the Senator moved through the crowd to visit with each of us.  

While waiting we met others, including Pork Producers.  I got to visit with a neighbor from that group.  The word “kind” applies again – he must know that I’ve been vocal with concerns about Confinement Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO’s) like his, but he came over to offer me a valuable local map. 

Mr. Harkin was surely tired of talking with Iowans – or people in general – by the time he got to us.  But he was warm and welcoming, even though I mentioned my interest in legalizing marijuana. He listened, and sighed.  I believe he indicated that U.S. drug policy is out of date, ineffective, and overdue for an overhaul.  It made me feel sorry for anyone in government.  

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (clich√©) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be clich√©, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Crowds Rally at '420' Celebration in Denver Marathoners Celebrate Easter With Tradition Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results