Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Slices of Life: Life and death in the backyard

(Continued)

Nature is a harsh, albeit practical, entity. Newborn chicks without feathers or any chance of survival – like the first two dead birds we found – do not usually fall from their nests; they are pushed. This can happen accidentally, when babies jostle for food. Other times, a bird may be born with a genetic imperfection incompatible with life. A mother bird may push the dead chick out to make room for her growing brood. Or, in some preemptive cases, she may not wait for the chick to take its last breath before giving the heave ho.

Turns out, the little-bit-older, flutter-flying baby birds we saw probably were not pushed, nor did they fall. Fledglings leave the nest voluntarily a few days before they are skilled flyers to allow their parents the ground-oriented opportunity to teach them to hunt, forage and avoid neighborhood predators.

It’s a cold cruel world in my backyard, and we haven’t even touched on the fact that I live with two cats. Baby birds and cats are not a harmonious combination. Experts advise keeping cats inside when baby birds are about. Duh. However, anyone who’s owned a cat understands no one really ever owns a cat – or tells any cat what to do.

I could pretend to be perfect and promise you our cats never disturb the robins in the backyard, but in all honesty that would be a bunch of (well) bird crap. Our cats sneak out on occasion, and when they do the adult birds go on super-mega squawk and chirp alert. They swoop and dive-bomb the felines, whose aloof attitude of superiority makes them unaware they are on the receiving end of any sort of avian disrespect.

Speaking of respect, I’ve developed a new sense of it for our fine-feathered friends. It isn’t easy being a bird – in my backyard or anywhere else. Baby chicks must flutter fly through a gauntlet that includes neighborhood cats, genetics, their own siblings and even parents. According to the Audubon Society, only 30 percent of young songbirds survive the first year of life. That’s less than even odds.

Talk about a crapshoot.

Jill Pertler is an award-winning syndicated columnist, playwright and author of “The Do-It-Yourselfer’s Guide to Self-Syndication” You can read more columns at the Slices of Life page on Facebook.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results