Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 1, 2013

Slices of Life: Warriors give all for the team

By Jill Pertler

The warrior enters the arena prepared for battle, or at least an extensive period of intense physical, mental and vocal workout. She has marched to a similar beat on previous occasions and knows the drill as well as any sergeant. This is no rookie, but a seasoned veteran, ready to hit the bleachers with her backside and scream her lungs out for the team.

She is a sports mom, serving on the front lines as her offspring’s number one fan.

Every warrior understands victory begins with a thorough study of one’s enemy – or in this case, a group of 9-year-olds who make up the opposing team. They may look innocent off the ice or basketball court, but these kids have winning on the brain and while all moms wish everyone could win, a smart warrior knows that ain’t going to happen.

A true warrior dresses the part; at least three-quarters of her wardrobe has been purchased in school colors. Her closet houses the motherload of team spirit. There is no mistaking who she is rooting for, but just in case she brings a homemade poster board sign with her to every game.

A warrior withstands wind, rain, sun, snow and fluorescent lighting. She is a fan for all seasons and whatever sport her kid is currently playing is her favorite one at the moment. She braves the elements and, like a good Boy Scout, always comes prepared. During the summer, when the noonday temperatures are packing heat, a baseball mom is packing sunscreen. In the cold winter months, hockey moms make like a smart, money-saving phone plan – and bundle.

While cheering is her chief method of support, she often carries weapons – in the form of cowbells, pom poms and, on occasion, a blow horn. Knowledge serves as her armor. This warrior is equally schooled in the intricacies of the game, the importance of hydration and concussion safety tips. She carries a rulebook and first aid kit in her purse, just in case. She is loudly disbelieving and cries foul when a referee makes a questionable call.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results