Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 20, 2013

Chiropractic care for senior citizens

Introduction

Chiropractic care is a suitable complementary healthcare option for people of all ages, including older individuals. The safe, gentle and effective techniques along with the comprehensive head-to-toe approach used by many practitioners makes chiropractic the perfect profession to address seniors’ musculoskeletal health problems. A 2012 study published in the journal Chiropractic & Manual Therapies agree, stating that chiropractors can play an important role in managing older adults’ health conditions. The role of chiropractic care for seniors extends beyond relief of aches and pains to influence key quality of life issues that almost every senior faces at some point. As our population ages, chiropractic will be there to provide quality care and support to our seniors and to ensure their best possible quality of life.

Reduced Pain or Discomfort

Reduced pain or discomfort is one of several important health benefits chiropractic care offers seniors. Pain in the spine and its surrounding sort tissues, or elsewhere throughout the body, is an unfortunate (though not necessarily inevitable) daily experience for many seniors. According to a 2011 study published in the journal Rheumatology, the risk of disabling back pain rises in older age, and seniors who have had a previous bout of back pain or who report poor self-rated health may have a greater risk of experiencing future back pain.

Chiropractic care, through the use of various manual techniques, provides seniors with a safe and effective way to treat or prevent pain in the spine elsewhere throughout the body, and it helps bolster general health in this group, too.

Increased Range of Motion

Reduced range of motion in the spine and extremities is common among seniors and, for many, has a direct effect on the ability to perform activities of daily living, including gardening, playing with grandchildren or performing other cherished hobbies. Chiropractic care- joint manipulation or mobilization, soft tissue work, functional exercise prescription- may help improve joint range of motion, flexibility and mobility in the elderly and help seniors better perform their activities of daily living.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results