Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 10, 2013

In the House of Wood

The Culture of Washington

Knoxville —  

You may or may not have heard that former Vice President Al Gore sold his failing television network, Current TV, to Qatar-owned al-Jazeera. Gore made himself a profit of $100 million on the transaction and it has been said that he wanted to close the deal with the state-owned media, once known as a terrorist network, before the end of 2012 so he would not have to subject himself to the wealth-punishing taxes he, and many other elected officials, have supported that hit Jan. 1. 

My issue with this is his hypocrisy, which I will try to spell out for you in this column, not the fact that he tried to make even more money to add to his enormous wealth. Gore represents the culture of Washington and why we MUST find true statesmen from outside Washington, to fill every seat in the Senate, House of Representatives, every cabinet post and the Presidency if we want to turn things around. 

The hypocrisy and shame of it all begins with Gore's choice of buyer. Al-Jazeera was all too eager to broadcast messages from Osama bin Laden and the horrific beheadings of American soldiers, just a few years ago. I believe those things, in and of themselves, should discourage any respectable American business or businessman from accepting its money and allowing it to spread its hate to more homes in this country. 

I browsed through the website for al-Jazeera English only briefly. I did not read any of the articles, just glanced at the headlines and photos on the main page. It looks like any other national news outlet's site and, given the state of today's national media, probably closely mirrors the selective coverage an American outlet provides. 

But the roots are still in al-Jazeera. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results