Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 10, 2013

In the House of Wood

The Culture of Washington

(Continued)

Knoxville —

Given that it's owned by Qatar, chances are, much of its funding has come from oil. Oil money, probably from American companies, which again, I don't agree with. I would much rather see domestic oil production employing Americans and keeping our money here. 

Al Gore won an Oscar for a documentary that perpetuated the myth of manmade global warming. Global warming is allegedly caused by American factories and American vehicles (not the pollutants from any of these things in other countries) which use petroleum for many purposes. Use of the fossil fuel, petroleum (oil) is killing our planet, according to Gore.

If so, then why did you accept money that came from the ravishing of Mother Earth, Mr. Gore? 

I can answer my own question. He feels he's entitled. He's better than the rest of us, because he's rich and has been a fixture in Washington all of his life. 

Gore grew up a Senator's son. He went to Harvard, served during the Vietnam War (I do thank him for his service in this regard.) and must have spent about five minutes as an investigative reporter in Tennessee before his own House of Representatives run in 1976. Once he got back to Washington in an elected office, he stayed there, all the way through the end of his term as Vice President in 2001.

He would have only left Washington, as an elected official, in 2009, if he had his way, due to Presidential term limits. That would have given him 32 years as an elected official in Washington, D.C. 

That's a lifetime. It is far too long for anyone to be away from his/her district or state to be able to consider himself a representative of the people who still live there. 

I know some of you are asking me about Chuck Grassley right now. I like Chuck Grassley. He's responsive, but no, I don't think his time in the Senate alone should total 36 years. No one's should. I think we are fortunate that Grassley at least visits every county every year and that his ego is not as inflated as Gore's. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Jury Awards Ventura $1.8M in Defamation Case Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando Raw: NH Man Held on $1M in Teen's Kidnapping New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Senate Confirms McDonald As VA Secretary Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Fish Oil Plant Blast Kills One Two Huge Fires Burning in Northern California Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results