Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 1, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Des Moines —  

Education is an important priority to me. As your State Senator, I will advocate for strong local control of schools; improved teacher, student and parent accountability; and renewed pre-eminence for Iowa’s education system.

In the coming weeks you will be hearing a lot about increased teacher pay. However, there are so many other facets to education reform that will help our students to succeed in our global economy such as online learning opportunities, college preparedness, standard teacher evaluations and tuition reimbursement to recruit for hard-to-serve areas.

I have also had numerous visitors from District 14 visit me recently at the Statehouse and attended my first legislative forums in Leon, Osceola, Corydon, Chariton and Newton. It is through these visits in Des Moines and in your communities I am being educated on issues important to you.

Through these personal contacts in the past couple weeks, I have learned local control is important to many of my constituents. Serving two terms as a Wayne County Supervisor and now as your State Senator, I have and will prove that I am a person who truly represents my district’s interests and get results.

I filed my first bill this week, which delves into the heart of local control. This bill calls for disposing of legal firearms and ammunition seized by local law enforcement agencies. Current law requires all abandoned or seized firearms to be transferred to the Iowa Department of Public Safety for use in law enforcement or sold at public auction. I am proposing the forfeited firearms or ammunition be maintained by the seizing agency such as our county sheriff’s departments and local police departments rather than transferred to the state.

I believe that government closer to those it serves is more responsive and more efficient. This bill would go straight to the heart of enhanced efficiencies.

I always look forward to hearing from you. Please feel free to contact me at amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov. You can also join me for a local forum in your county.

Upcoming Forums:

February 16 - 7:30 a.m. Jasper County Farm Bureau, Newton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results