Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 14, 2014

Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa

Knoxville — My View today leans heavily on one Kamyar Enshayan.  He teaches at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls and I know him through his work with Practical Farmers of Iowa, the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture at Iowa State, and the Buy Fresh, Buy Local campaign.  In fact, Enshayan has led in bringing local food to local sites – schools, hospitals and restaurants.

His essay “Breaking Bad in Iowa” was inspired by the TV series “Breaking Bad.”  As most of you know, the series was about a high school chemistry teacher in Albuquerque, N.M., who, when stricken with a terminal cancer, sought to assure his family’s financial future by teaming up with a student drug dealer and marketing methamphetamine.  

Breaking bad!  Inspired by that, and by his knowledge of Iowa’s horrible meth trade, Enshayan asked some friends over coffee, “What enterprise in Iowa would parallel the tragedy in 'Breaking Bad'?”  To his surprise they came back as one naming “commodity agriculture” and the network of global corporations that make it work.   

We see effects of that all around us.  For instance, here’s one that commodity agriculture helped create. Where schools and churches and stores used to support a thriving small town we now often see nothing – or a Rural History Buff sign like “Site of Old Town Wheeling.”   The corn and soy beans still grow but in larger and larger fields with the profits going to larger and larger corporations far away from Marion County.  “Sociologists and economists report that markets in nearly every agricultural sector (corn, beans, beef, …) are all controlled by a handful of global corporations, leaving farmers as price takers while production expenses rise.”  Small amounts of profit stay local; small farmers and farm workers have moved away to find a way to make a living. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results