Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 20, 2013

In the House of Wood

Taken out to the ballgame

Knoxville —

I had the best weekend I have had in very long time last weekend. 
 
Marcy and I joined my old friend Jake for Mystique Casino's Island Fest in Dubuque. 
 
I boil this down to luck. Jake and I took many baseball-related trips together with our mothers as kids. His mother saw an advertisement for the Team of Dreams event, and the roster of ballplayers associated with it. She immediately knew that Jake and I would have to attend, and she took care of getting our tickets. I owe her a huge THANK YOU there. 
 
There are very, VERY few times that I would agree to pay $100 for a single meal. But when we learned that we would get to hear from, quite literally, our childhood idols, we jumped at the chance to do so.
 
It was well worth every penny. I'd almost pay more. Chances are, if they do this again, they will look at the success of the dinner and ask for more. 
 
In any case, we knew nothing about the size of the venue, where we would sit, etc. Just being there was  going to be enough for us. 
 
When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised that it was a relatively small room, and we were ushered to a center table, two rows from the stage. We were about 20 feet away from these guys. It was awesome. 
 
As I wrote in the story, we were laughing ourselves silly throughout, but Pete Rose and Johnny Bench were the funniest. Jake and I agreed that it was a good thing they came on last, otherwise, the other guys may have seemed lame. I was in tears, I was laughing so hard at Pete. Most of his jokes, I don't feel comfortable reprinting here, but I found very humorous. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results