Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Why have a campaign?

Bruce Braley will be our next US Senator and I’ll tell you why.

This does not please me, because upon reading about Braley, there are many differences between his values and mine. Nevertheless, I have complete and total confidence in his victory. We should save the millions of dollars and the nausea associated with campaign ads because there is just no point in fighting this, unless the Republicans can formulate some kind of strategy.

It’s not even about strategy. It’s making an effort. It’s backing your candidate and being the party of GOOD ideas. Republicans, in every major election I’ve covered, seem to fail at that.

First of all, I’m not even sure how many people are running. I know of Sam Clovis, Joni Ernst and Matt Whitaker. Are there more Republican candidates out there? Have they attempted to reach and get their message out to us rural Iowans?

I somehow got on Clovis’ mailing list and I get the occasional release from him. It’s just the same, tired rhetoric and no solid IDEAS for improving things. You have to have ideas. Just talking about how bad things are will not work.

I have received emails from Ernst’s campaign (whom Sen. Amy Sinclair has already endorsed) about her latest endorsements. That’s great. What are you going to do if you get the nomination and the seat?

What’s the point in holding these ideas in? Sure, there may be some strategy involved, as you don’t want the other guy to steal your ideas before you can get them out to a mass audience.

But does that matter when your party is supposed to be united and stand for a collection of shared ideals? Isn’t the point to put another “R” in the Senate when the opportunity presents itself?

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results