Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Becoming a breadwinner -- in my own kind of way at least

(Continued)

And with that, the story of me being a from-scratch baker emerged like that tiny mustard seed. I am not proud. My lack of truthfulness – not to mention bread-making skills – has weighed heavy on me. A couple of weeks ago I decided it was time to wipe the pastry board clean and begin anew.

You might think this meant fessing up to my kid. Naw. Instead, I returned to the world of flour and yeast, anxious to get my hands dirty. I had a need to knead and my resolve was rising; I vowed to get it right this time.

My first attempt at “very easy yeast rolls,” appeared promising at the start. The ingredients combined to resemble dough (always a positive sign), which grew to twice its size. Next, the recipe called for the mixture to be punched down and allowed time to expand again. While punching seemed an awfully violent food preparation technique, I did as I was told. Unfortunately, my dough was deader than a hockey puck and failed to rise again.

The next morning at the grocery store, I passed the frozen bread section and paused. Temptation hovered, whispering in my ear, but after much consternation, I managed to maneuver my cart over to the baking aisle. I grabbed a multi-pack of yeast and headed toward the check out with as much optimism as a gal can muster with a breakfast of heavy, peanut-butter-laced hockey pucks digesting in her stomach.

I’m relieved to report my second attempt turned out more edible than the first. I’ve since baked another successful loaf along with two batches of from-scratch biscuits. I’m on my way to becoming the mom some people in my house believe me to be.

Or, perhaps I already am. My adventures in the kitchen have taught me making bread from scratch isn’t needed – or kneaded – to make me a good mom. Not really. My son doesn’t love me because I bake him bread. He loves me because I am his mom. In turn, I enjoy doing nice things for him because he is my son. It’s as simple as that. Sometimes the biggest and most important lessons in life are simple. Learning them makes one a true breadwinner – whether you bake bread, or not.

Jill Pertler is an award-winning syndicated columnist, playwright and author of “The Do-It-Yourselfer’s Guide to Self-Syndication” You can read more columns at the Slices of Life page on Facebook.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message $5M Bond Set for Teens in Homeless Killings New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Obama Calls for Immediate Access to Crash Site Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Native American Teens Get Taste of College Legendary Actor James Garner Dies Raw: Eric Garner's Wife Collapses at Rally in NY
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results