Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Letter to the Editor

To the Editor:

It would seem all too often public workers and administrators are considered ineffective and not willing to work with people on a variety of subjects. At least in regard to the Kiwanis Miracle Playground project at Young’s Park, just the opposite has been the case. It would be hard to imagine how the project would have gotten where it is without help from City employees and administrators.

The City of Knoxville has provided storage, use of equipment and manpower. This is an ongoing project and I would hope Kiwanis can depend on the City’s help in the future for the remainder of the project.

Lew Brent

President, Knoxville Morning Kiwanis

To the Editor:

I read with interest Jay Bender’s letter to the editor and found myself agreeing with an old rival. Maybe it is advancing age, but the history and traditions of my home town are increasingly dear. I was fortunate enough to have played at Ken Locke Stadium, but, as is often the case, youth is wasted on the young. I failed to fully appreciate the history of our stadium, the powerful story of Ken Locke and how fortunate I was to play for Coach Sloan. The idea of honoring Coach Sloan by naming the field at Ken Locke Stadium for him would be a perfect way to continue to honor our memories and traditions.

Ken Locke Stadium is appropriately named for an exceptional student athlete who tragically passed away due to injuries suffered in a football game. This stadium has always been a source of pride for the Knoxville community. It is unique in appearance, with a rich history that began when the WPA transformed the town lake into a beautiful and functional centerpiece for our community. Like so many WPA projects, this stadium goes beyond its utilitarian purpose to provide a living testament to the craftsmanship of our grandparents’ generation. We are also fortunate that the Save our Stadium campaign has protected and updated this facility. Naming the playing field in honor of Coach Sloan would be a further step in recognizing and honoring the past of this great stadium.

Tim Agan

Knoxville HS ‘77

Phoenix, AZ

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results