Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

June 20, 2013

Slices of Life: Pass the ketchup

We were out of ketchup – or catsup, depending on your preference. You say tuh-may-toe; I say tuh-mah-toe.

The word “ketchup” is sometimes associated with a particular brand. I buy lots of generic products, but not generic ketchup. When it comes to red condiments, my family practices purebred, pure-brand loyalty. At least we did.

Although ketchup is an American icon, the sauce originated in China in the 1600s. It was made with pickled fish and spices and didn’t even contain tomatoes; the ingredient was added when the condiment came to the United States sometime in the early 1800s. By 1837, a guy named Yerks had modified and commercialized the product and marketed it nationwide. The American love affair with ketchup had begun. For most of us.

Some people don’t like ketchup. They don’t live at my house. We love the stuff – high fructose corn syrup and all.

What’s not to like? Inside the bottle, you’ll find food flexibility at its finest. Depending on your culinary needs, you can use it as an ingredient (meatloaf) or condiment (cheeseburger). While the jury is still out on nutritional legitimacy, in some circles our tomato-based friend is considered a vegetable – even though tomatoes are technically fruits, but I’ve never been able to keep that one straight.

I’ve witnessed creative ketchup use in the kitchen and beyond. My son likes it with macaroni and cheese. I enjoy dill pickles dipped in ketchup. I even know one friend who pours the sauce on his pancakes. He seems to enjoy it. I say to each his own on that one. (Please pass the syrup.)

The red wonder is more than just food and can resemble pretend blood on Halloween or other festive occasions when one wants to fake significant injury. Ketchup can get rid of chlorine build-up on hair and shine tarnished metal (but not at the same time). I’ve also heard rumors it enhances the flavor of French fries, but that idea sounds a little extreme – sort of like putting ketchup on pancakes.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results