Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

June 20, 2013

Slices of Life: Pass the ketchup

(Continued)

Most ketchup consumers fit into one of two categories: dippers or squeezers.

I am a dipper. I like to squirt a round puddle of the sassy sauce on my plate and dip my burger, hot dog or baloney sandwich right into the mix. This creates ample disbursement of the condiment and the flavor it imparts.

My husband is a squeezer. He lifts the bun off his sandwich and squeezes the desired amount of ketchup onto the bread in a zigzag pattern. The idea is to create an even layer of ketchup throughout the sandwich. Squeezers enjoy consistency in their condiment distribution; it’s all about control.

In order to dip or squeeze, you’ve got to keep a supply of the red spread in your fridge. We were plum out. At our house, running out of ketchup is serious business. Not as serious as a car wreck or broken bone; more along the lines of running out of toilet paper or losing the TV remote. Serious enough to warrant a trip to the store.

Once there, I made an appalling discovery. The shelves where my preferred brand sits were empty. This forced me to do the unthinkable. I grabbed a bottle from the company containing less than 57 varieties and put it in my cart, knowing I’d most likely regret such roguish actions in the morning.

I arrived home just in time for a lunch of brats (sausages, not kids). I dipped. My husband squeezed. We both took a bite and lovingly caught each other’s eye like a married couple does when bonding over the birth of a child, 25-year wedding anniversary or new type of ketchup. The other brand tasted – good – tangy and flavorful and completely ketchuptastic. I didn’t know what to think. Every idea and hypothesis I’d formulated about ketchup (or catsup) was thrown out with the brat-water.

Maybe, just maybe, ketchup on French fries isn’t such a bad idea after all. And the whole pancake thing? It definitely deserves reconsideration.

Jill Pertler is an award-winning syndicated columnist, playwright and author of “The Do-It-Yourselfer’s Guide to Self-Syndication” You can read more columns at the Slices of Life page on Facebook.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results