Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

June 21, 2013

'The Graduate - Again and Again'

That title, “The Graduate,” brings memories of a beautiful tree-lined stretch of highway south of San Francisco where the Dustin Hoffman movie hero rode a desperate ride to claim his bride.

Now I’ve reached the stage of grandparenting where many, less-hazardous graduations are happening. Last year was the first eighth-grade graduation we attended – amazing for the green gowns and caps that kept slipping. I felt happy and challenged, “How can I be as close to this ninth grader as I once was to her when she was three?”

I’m challenged with more graduations this year. My husband was a real trooper and went to California for graduations of two grandsons – one eighth grade and one high school – and for the high school graduation of a stepgranddaughter-to-be. Then we met in Seattle for the graduation of a grandson from eighth grade.

I missed the first three but was most sorry to miss the one where the students had been asked for a personal thought to share – and those came on, recorded, at the graduation. Of course we liked it because this young woman said she was happy that her mother’s marriage would bring her into our son’s family! The one graduation I attended was special in that it was totally planned by the students themselves, with only one brief adult appearance on stage. Very impressive.

The most special part of these graduations for me is that they mark a new stage, a new opportunity, in my relationship with the grandchild. That has not been my strong suit. I have a hunch that many of you are in graduation season now, too, and may face the same challenge.

Graduations were big in my family because education was big. For my mother it was a given that we would all go to college. My father, however, claimed that he couldn’t remember whether he got to second grade or sixth grade at Sunnyside Country School. After his death, my mother and many leaders at Iowa State College/University agreed that since he’d been an agriculture leader it would be appropriate to have an ag lectureship there in his name (especially since he’d earned the money to fund it).

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Raw: MN Lakes Still Frozen Before Fishing Opener Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Man Fatally Shot During Police Standoff Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security Thousands Cross Boston Marathon Finish Line Defendant Killed by Police in Courthouse Attack Raw: Woman Accused in Babies' Deaths in Court Raw: Sinkhole Swallows Part of Fla. Yard Stowaway Stirs Concern About Airport Security
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results