Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 15, 2013

Heartsill Report: Remembering Margaret Thatcher

Des Moines —

Earlier this week, I had the honor of participating in the Legislative Memorial Choir.  Just to clarify, I was not chosen for my vocal talent, but rather there was a need for more male voices particularly in the bass section.  I was honored to participate nonetheless.

This memorial service remembered former legislators who have passed on since the last General Assembly.  Many who participated in the memorial service – candle lighters, readers, and choir – were current senators and representatives.  It was a very special memorial service for me as I happened to personally know one of the deceased representatives and the family members of another.

One thing which was very apparent for all who participated was the level of respect for those former office holders regardless of party affiliation or political ideology.  It was especially meaningful to have current legislators of opposing parties put aside their political differences for a time and give honor to those who have gone before us in the Legislature.

Speaking of memorials, this past week also witnessed the passing of one the 20th Century’s greatest world leaders, Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher.  It should come as no surprise that I am a huge fan of the legacy and leadership of Prime Minister Thatcher (much like I am of her American counterpart, Ronald Reagan).

Margaret Thatcher was known as the “Iron Lady”.  I suppose that moniker is apropos as she possessed one particular quality that is absent in most political leaders: nerves of steel.  While at the same time, her manner and conduct was that of a proper British lady.  It would behoove us to take note of this impeccable combination of qualities in a statesman.  They rarely come around in our lifetime.

Having just experienced the Iowa Legislative Memorial Service, I was completely shocked and dismayed to learn of the disrespectful reaction by the British people upon the death of one of their own great leaders.  As I watched the news accounts of these “death party” demonstrations on television, I observed that many of the people “celebrating” didn’t appear to be old enough to have either lived under or personally remember the rule of Margaret Thatcher.   Where did all this hate and vitriol come from?  They must have learned it from somewhere.  Perhaps the British education system is responsible for poisoning these young minds.  Whoever the culprit may be, I think it is a shame and disgrace on the people of Britain.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Fish Oil Plant Blast Kills One Two Huge Fires Burning in Northern California Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video $15B Deal on Vets' Health Care Reached Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results