Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 15, 2013

Heartsill Report: Remembering Margaret Thatcher

(Continued)

Des Moines —

Take a long, hard look across the pond, America.  This is the manifestation of generation being indoctrinated by the professors and purveyors of the doctrines of open-mindedness and tolerance.  Britain has reaped what it has sewn.  Our way of life is usually not too many steps behind theirs.  Just recently, we’ve accepted one of the mainstays of British culture: socialized medicine.  Don’t be too surprised when, down the road, some of our fellow countrymen are dancing in the street and singing “Ding Dong! The witch is dead!” after one of our illustrious leaders pass on.

If I haven’t said it clearly enough already: shame on Britain!  Shame on any people who would disgrace themselves like this by dishonoring someone like Margaret Thatcher when she dies!  What will they do next?  Tear down all the images of Winston Churchill and replace them with Neville Chamberlin?  Wait a minute.  Given the apparent disconnect the British have with their own history; they probably don’t even know who those men are nor the meaning behind that rhetorical question.

Isn’t it ironic how those who preach “tolerance” are among those most intolerant in our society?  Isn’t it odd that those who talk about being open-minded and respectful toward others are typically the ones with closed minds leading disrespectful demonstrations?  You’re seeing it happen now in Britain.  It’s on full display for all the world to see.

I cannot bring myself to refer to Britain by its proper name.  Any people that tolerates such flagrant and grotesque dishonor of one of their distinguished leaders doesn’t deserve to be called “great” anymore.

Here’s to you, Margaret Thatcher.  You will always be remembered in the hearts of those who cherish freedom and liberty regardless of nationality.  It is a crying shame that your family and your legacy should have to suffer such an insult from an ignorant and unrestrained throng.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Fish Oil Plant Blast Kills One Two Huge Fires Burning in Northern California Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video $15B Deal on Vets' Health Care Reached Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results