Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

July 6, 2012

In the House of Wood

No cause for celebration

(Continued)

Knoxville —

It is not in our nature to be subservient to any government. The Founders knew this. We're just supposed to answer to God, not any other man. 

The government has abused its power, and redistributes wealth in order to continue to purchase our loyalty, in exchange for our liberties. How have they gotten by with that? Because too many of us like the handouts, and these days, some people are too ignorant to realize that America is land of the free, home of the brave. Nor do they realize that the true American dream is living your life as you choose, or God has planned for you, without government interference.

Everyone in Washington must go if there's any hope for America. In watching the reaction by Republican House Speaker John Boehner on Sunday, regarding the “Obamacare” ruling, I was extraordinarily disappointed. 

He was attacking it on political reasons, and did not state the need for its repeal because it is so indescribably un-American. Instead, he and the Republicans just want to find a way to repeal it, but find ways to reinstitute much of its idiotic, freedom-robbing components that freeloaders want, which could translate into votes. 

Here's what Boehner should have told CBS' Nora O'Donnell:

“Well, Nora, given that this mandate was repeatedly denied to be a tax by its backers, including President Obama, and the fact that it includes provisions that do not treat the states equally, that it was passed when every poll showed that most Americans opposed its passage, that it was passed in the middle of the night without being read by the duly elected representatives of the people, the fact that it expands dependence on government at a time when we haven't had a budget in nearly three years, will add to our debt that will already be impossible to repay and that this is a free, Constitutional republic and not a European socialist 'utopia,' we will do away with it in its entirety and deal with the components that have already begun, while we search for a true SOLUTION, and not another burden to be placed on businesses and people in this country.” 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video $15B Deal on Vets' Health Care Reached Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results