Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

December 26, 2013

Movie Review: Nebraska

Knoxville — “Nebraska” is one of the funniest movies I have seen all year. You will not be disappointed by this film and I highly recommend seeing it as soon as you can. 

The story centers on an elderly man (Bruce Dern) who believes he has won $1 million in a publishers' sweepstakes. After being caught by the sheriff trying to walk from Billings, Montana, to Lincoln, Neb., on more than one occasion, one of his sons (Will Forte) decides to drive him to Lincoln to prove that nothing has been won. Along the way, we get to know more about the man's wife, hometown, extended family and friends. 

Dern and Forte deliver outstanding performances. Forte's work is a reminder that sometimes “Saturday Night Live” alumni do not receive the credit they deserve for the kind of talent one must possess to make it on that show. As opposed to his loud, annoying characters Forte is known for, his turn as a son learning about and standing up for his father still manages to find humor in most frames. The rest find him playing straight man to Dern, or sharing a heartwarming moment. 

Some of the best lines of the film fall to June Squibb, who plays Dern's loud, obnoxious and desperately off-putting wife. Squibb is getting one of my Iowa Film Critics Association nominations for best supporting actress this year. She was that good and added just that much to the film. 

The journey taken by the father and son duo is one you will definitely want to join them for. The black and white utilized by director Alexander Payne helps demonstrate not only the comfort and relaxation small towns can offer, but also illustrates the disappointment and life not lived by Dern's character. Even through the shadows, sunshine and light can come through the gray. See this movie.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results