Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

December 26, 2013

Movie Review: Dallas Buyers Club

Knoxville — I can't really recommend “Dallas Buyers Club,” the tale of one man's struggles in the early days of the AIDS epidemic, because it's a little too formulaic. However, that's not to say that the film is not without its strong points. 

The film stars Matthew McConaughey as Ron Woodruff, a cowboy electrician living it up with drugs, sex and gambling in 1985 Dallas, Texas. Woodruff is diagnosed with the disease and tries to extend his life as long as he can, even if that means thumbing his nose and suing the Food and Drug Administration. 

Woodruff makes the transformation from typical, self-absorbed lowlife into a redemptive figure, fighting for fellow AIDS patients. He flies all around the world to bring treatment medications to those people who would not have access to them and would instead have to settle for the FDA's approved drug, which is also proven to be toxic. 

McConaughey's physical appearance is different in this film, hiding a thin-as-a-rail frame behind shaggy, straight hair and a thick mustache, but that voice, swagger and manner of speaking still comes through. He delivers a strong performance, but I don't know if it's the best of his career as some are saying. To me, a lot of the accolades an actor receives, when taking chances in movies like this, are due to subject matter meant to advance a cause. 

Though not many individual heroes of the early days of the war against AIDS have been celebrated on film, the story of the early days, how it affected the homosexual community and the shame associated with it has been told repeatedly. The problem is that director Jeff Nichols follows the script of a crusader fighting an injustice against an entire nation too closely. It was too familiar, too much like a carbon copy of dozens of such heroes whose stories have already been told on the big screen. One could say he took risks with some of the edgy, uncomfortable scenes in the movie, but they weren't the right ones. 

Jennifer Garner co-stars as a doctor who assists Woodruff, but she is given nothing to work with. She was a cutout of someone risking her career that could easily have been placed on a flannel board next to McConaughey and the rest of the characters. 

I'd skip this one or catch it on cable. I didn't find anything too spectacular about it. 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: 2 Hurt in NY Trench Collapse House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results