Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

December 26, 2013

Movie Review: Dallas Buyers Club

Knoxville — I can't really recommend “Dallas Buyers Club,” the tale of one man's struggles in the early days of the AIDS epidemic, because it's a little too formulaic. However, that's not to say that the film is not without its strong points. 

The film stars Matthew McConaughey as Ron Woodruff, a cowboy electrician living it up with drugs, sex and gambling in 1985 Dallas, Texas. Woodruff is diagnosed with the disease and tries to extend his life as long as he can, even if that means thumbing his nose and suing the Food and Drug Administration. 

Woodruff makes the transformation from typical, self-absorbed lowlife into a redemptive figure, fighting for fellow AIDS patients. He flies all around the world to bring treatment medications to those people who would not have access to them and would instead have to settle for the FDA's approved drug, which is also proven to be toxic. 

McConaughey's physical appearance is different in this film, hiding a thin-as-a-rail frame behind shaggy, straight hair and a thick mustache, but that voice, swagger and manner of speaking still comes through. He delivers a strong performance, but I don't know if it's the best of his career as some are saying. To me, a lot of the accolades an actor receives, when taking chances in movies like this, are due to subject matter meant to advance a cause. 

Though not many individual heroes of the early days of the war against AIDS have been celebrated on film, the story of the early days, how it affected the homosexual community and the shame associated with it has been told repeatedly. The problem is that director Jeff Nichols follows the script of a crusader fighting an injustice against an entire nation too closely. It was too familiar, too much like a carbon copy of dozens of such heroes whose stories have already been told on the big screen. One could say he took risks with some of the edgy, uncomfortable scenes in the movie, but they weren't the right ones. 

Jennifer Garner co-stars as a doctor who assists Woodruff, but she is given nothing to work with. She was a cutout of someone risking her career that could easily have been placed on a flannel board next to McConaughey and the rest of the characters. 

I'd skip this one or catch it on cable. I didn't find anything too spectacular about it. 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Raw: Urinator Causes Portland to Flush Reservoir Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Obama, Biden Announce $600M for Job Grants Miley Cyrus Still in Hospital, Cancels 2nd Show New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Boston Officials: No Bags at Marathon Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results