Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 3, 2013

Goodbye To You, 2012, And To Those You Took With You

Knoxville —  

Each year takes with it some of our friends, relatives and those public figures we see as friends, or perhaps, something other than a friend, some heroes, some villains, and some a little of each.  2012 was no different.

I was 10 years old when awoken by my mother, to come see Neil Armstrong take his “one small step.”  He was 82 when he passed away after heart surgery in December.  He was the stuff of legends and will never be forgotten, but it was a bad year for legendary American astronauts, as Sally Ride, the first American woman in space also passed away at the young age of 61, the victim of pancreatic cancer.

In the wide world of sports, we said goodbye to Joe Paterno in January, just weeks after he was fired in the wake of the Sandusky child abuse nightmare at Penn State University.  One wonders whether he lost his will to fight in the aftermath of those events.  A hero to some, and yet the University removed his statue, in some way, a posthumous judgment, and a sad event in every way.  

Another controversial figure from the world of football, Art Modell, passed away at the start of the NFL season.  He was still a villain in Cleveland, having moved the old Browns franchise to Baltimore and renamed them the Ravens in 1996, but he became a hero to Baltimore when they won the Super Bowl in 2001.  Perhaps saddest of all was the suicide of Junior Seau, who spent 19 years as a linebacker in the NFL.  This deepened the concern of many regarding the effects of repeated head trauma on the brain, as he was by no means the first player to commit suicide after a long football career.

2012 was a bad year in the world of music, where Whitney Houston, Marvin Hamlisch, Dave Brubeck, and also Robin Gibb, of the Bee Gees, and Davy Jones, of the Monkees, all passed away.  Some, like Hamlisch and Brubeck after long lives, but Whitney Houston’s passing, at 48, as a result of drowning was especially sad, and a waste of such talent.  The autopsy showed evidence of cocaine abuse and consequent heart disease - which made the event all the more tragic.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Obama: 8 Million Healthcare Signups Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results