Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 3, 2013

Goodbye To You, 2012, And To Those You Took With You

Knoxville —  

Each year takes with it some of our friends, relatives and those public figures we see as friends, or perhaps, something other than a friend, some heroes, some villains, and some a little of each.  2012 was no different.

I was 10 years old when awoken by my mother, to come see Neil Armstrong take his “one small step.”  He was 82 when he passed away after heart surgery in December.  He was the stuff of legends and will never be forgotten, but it was a bad year for legendary American astronauts, as Sally Ride, the first American woman in space also passed away at the young age of 61, the victim of pancreatic cancer.

In the wide world of sports, we said goodbye to Joe Paterno in January, just weeks after he was fired in the wake of the Sandusky child abuse nightmare at Penn State University.  One wonders whether he lost his will to fight in the aftermath of those events.  A hero to some, and yet the University removed his statue, in some way, a posthumous judgment, and a sad event in every way.  

Another controversial figure from the world of football, Art Modell, passed away at the start of the NFL season.  He was still a villain in Cleveland, having moved the old Browns franchise to Baltimore and renamed them the Ravens in 1996, but he became a hero to Baltimore when they won the Super Bowl in 2001.  Perhaps saddest of all was the suicide of Junior Seau, who spent 19 years as a linebacker in the NFL.  This deepened the concern of many regarding the effects of repeated head trauma on the brain, as he was by no means the first player to commit suicide after a long football career.

2012 was a bad year in the world of music, where Whitney Houston, Marvin Hamlisch, Dave Brubeck, and also Robin Gibb, of the Bee Gees, and Davy Jones, of the Monkees, all passed away.  Some, like Hamlisch and Brubeck after long lives, but Whitney Houston’s passing, at 48, as a result of drowning was especially sad, and a waste of such talent.  The autopsy showed evidence of cocaine abuse and consequent heart disease - which made the event all the more tragic.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results