Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 3, 2013

Goodbye To You, 2012, And To Those You Took With You

(Continued)

Knoxville —

We cannot leave out those whose lives were cut short in the service of their country; J. Christopher Stevens, US ambassador said that Libya was a place of promise, and also for him and for the staff members who died with him, an example of the dangers of serving the United States abroad.  It would not be appropriate to mention service to the United States, and omit the passing of General ‘Stormin’ Norman’ Schwarzkopf on the last Thursday of the year.  Finally, too many members of the military have passed in the line of duty to name them all, but we remember them, and we cannot overvalue their sacrifice.  

Among the heroes and villains of the screen, Larry Hagman, as JR Ewing, was the most identifiable villains for many years, even reprising the role last year, despite fighting cancer at the same time.  Those who are a little older will also remember that he portrayed Major Tony Nelson in ‘I Dream of Jeannie.’  Other instantly recognizable actors, Ernest Borgnine, Sherman Hemsley, and Michael Clarke Duncan, left us last year.  The last of those, Michael Clarke Duncan, was just 54 years old when he succumbed to complications of heart disease.  

Dick Clark was fittingly celebrated on New Year’s Eve, but Phyllis Diller and Alex Karras were barely mentioned as they left us.  It also seemed somehow appropriate that both Andy Griffith and George Lindsey (a.k.a. ‘Goober’) should leave us in the same year, and although the former was the bigger star, perhaps we might do well to remember the good-natured, childlike character portrayed by Lindsay.

It would be impossible to mention all the heroes, villains, and those, like most of us, who fall somewhere in between, that passed away in 2012, and I apologize if I have left out one of your favorite people.  

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results