Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 13, 2012

In the House of Wood

You're not stupid

Knoxville —  

I don't think you're too stupid to be able to make your own decisions. Nor did America's founders. It just seems today that we are all in the minority.

This week, I spent entirely too much time with the Board of Supervisors. That's nothing against them and the issues they discussed were necessary to discuss. However, it was during these meetings that I heard the term “regionalization” many times. This concerns me. 

The locals are not smart enough to be able to administer services to the people of their county on their own, it seems some at the state level believe, so everything needs to be collected from the counties and redistributed to the people of those counties as this new and improved think tank sees fit. 

Granted, there are probably counties in which this is true. They either do not have the resources or ability to elect competent people to lead and have created financial hardships for themselves or their residents. They need bailed out by more successful, financially prudent counties, such as Marion.

But that's not socialism. That's “being a good neighbor.” The problem is that when you do that, the successful counties suffer. Instead of bringing the others up, I think it is more likely that you will bring the better counties down to a subpar level of mediocrity. It will fail. 

The sad part is that this will not be a decision made by Boards of Supervisors, or even better, we the people. Those decisions will be made for us at the state or even the federal level, because, after all, if you don't hold an elected office or appointed position at those levels, you're an idiot (in their eyes). According to them, you're not capable of taking care of yourself or charting a course for your county, though you live there and know your neighbors. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results