Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

October 18, 2013

Another View

Real Work Deserves Fair Pay – Yes?

Knoxville — Have any of you visited McDonald’s or Walmart recently?  Was the person who waited on you working?  

My visits to those places have shown me people who worked hard, usually fast, to meet my needs.  And yet, most of their jobs pay lousy wages and provide low – or no – benefits.  They are at the lowest end of the income group that makes up 99 percent of us, while most of the money stays with the 1 percent on top.  The gap between the two is greater than it’s been since the 1920s, and any income gains since the Recession have gone mostly to that top 1 percent.  

I was thrilled a few weeks ago that McDonald's workers were on strike and that many Walmart employees were demonstrating.  They should.  We should be there with them.   

They earn from 8 to 10 dollars an hour at McDonald's and average $8.81 an hour at Walmart.  Besides, a third of Walmart’s work force is employed for less than 28 hours a week and therefore don’t qualify for benefits.  In fact, we the people pay for most benefits they do receive – food stamps and emergency rooms.

These workers are attempting to live the American dream:  a home and enough money to raise a family.  Not possible at $8.81 an hour.  

Since year 2000 productivity in our country has grown by nearly 20 percent.  But the bottom 60 percent of working Americans are earning less than they did 13 years ago. Where’s the money? 

Ah!  The 50 biggest employers of low-wage workers are bringing in more dollars now than they did before the recession. McDonald’s CEO was awarded a compensation package last year valued at $13.8 million!  Walmart?  The Walton family business?  That CEO received $20.7 million last year.  The Walton family wealth exceeds the wealth of the bottom 40 percent of American families combined.  (My numbers are from Robert Reich, former US Labor Secretary and creator of the film “Inequality for All.”)

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results