Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 6, 2013

Heartsill Report: An Easter lesson for Government

Des Moines —  

Friday, April 5 marks a very important hurdle for legislation in both the House and Senate chambers as it is the second “funnel”.  This means legislation (outside of tax and spending bills) must be voted out of their respective committees by that deadline in order to “stay alive” for the session.  With that being said, this week was extremely busy for all legislators as we were scrambling to get key bills past this self-imposed deadline.

While we are still within the wake of the Easter holiday, I thought it would be appropriate to share an important lesson for government that comes from Easter, particularly the story behind Good Friday.

Good Friday highlights the world’s most famous trial: the trial of Jesus Christ.  Although this trial took place 2000 years ago, its effects are still realized to this day.  Here we have a situation where the ruling Roman governor of the region, Pontius Pilate, has the power and authority to judge, to grant freedom, or to sentence death.

When Jesus was brought before Pontius Pilate, Pilate was having a difficult time understanding why this Man had been brought before him.  In fact, he was just having a difficult time understanding the Man.  Not to shirk his duty, though, Pilate set out to examine Jesus and the allegations made against Him.  However, Pilate not able to ascertain any compelling evidence against the accused (“I find no fault in this Man.” – Luke 23:4;14) was still not sure what to do.

Luckily for Pilate, a Passover custom rescued his uncertainty.  He decided to utilize the Jewish custom and release to the people the prisoner of their choice.  How could this plan go wrong?  Especially if the choice given to the people was between an obviously innocent Man and a known “notorious” individual (Matthew 27:16) that had been “thrown into prison” for “rebellion” and “murder.” (Luke 23:19)

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results