Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Another View - Worse Water - Where’s Our Governor?

Knoxville — I wrote last time about our area being such a popular place to visit – RAGBRAI®, the races, historic sites, lake and rivers, and on and on.  Yes, it’s great to see the bright side, but it’s vital to see the gaping holes in that bright view, too. And here’s a biggie – again – water quality.

We cannot keep attracting visitors here if our water continues to get worse. My grandchildren were disappointed last year when their parents read the signs above the Red Rock beach and ordered,  “No swimming here, kids.”  I was sad last week when I read our latest water test results (State Hygienic Laboratory, University of Iowa, $26):  water in our newest well is still on the edge of nitrate safety.  Not deemed safe for pregnant women.  

So it was good news that Gov. Branstad was meeting with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to discuss the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) plan for getting Iowa into compliance with federal Clean Water standards.   It’s been federal law since 1972 – about time we complied.  The bad news is that it seems to have been a closed-door meeting with invited representatives present largely from the groups responsible for Iowa’s major water pollution:  the Iowa Farm Bureau and the groups representing pork, cattle, chicken and turkey producers.  Absent were representatives for WE THE PEOPLE.  We’re the ones who can’t safely drink the water – we need to buy it in plastic bottles or pay for special cleansing measures such as Des Moines Water Works uses at a cost to customers of $7,000 a day.  And we can’t safely swim, fish, or splash in much of our water.  We would like Iowa to follow the Clean Water law.

We the people are best represented here by the Sierra Club, the Iowa Citizens for Community Improvement, and the Environmental Integrity Project.  Those three started back in 2007 to get the federal Environmental Protection Agency at work on Iowa’s non-compliance with the federal Clean Water Act.  These groups, according to the “Iowa Sierran” (8-13), used the Freedom of Information Act to find documents which “clearly show that one of the Branstad Administration’s top priorities is to shield a polluting industry from strong and effective public oversight by undermining what could be one of the most significant reforms in years to begin cracking down on factory farm pollution and cleaning up Iowa’s 628 polluted rivers, lakes, and streams.”   

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Congress Approves Iron Dome Funding Raw: House OKs Bill for Border Crisis Funds Rare Whale Fossil Pulled From Calif. Backyard Denver Celebrates Pot at the County Fair Escaping Email: Inspired Vision or Pipe Dream? Obama Calls on Hamas to Release Israeli Soldier Hispanic Caucus Slams GOP for Border Bill Shifts Obama: GOP Not Even Trying to Solve Immigration Emory Prepares to Treat American Ebola Cases US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Russell Simmons, LL Cool J Visit Youth at Jail Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian US, UN Announce Deal on Gaza Cease-Fire Despite Moratorium, Detroit Water Worries Remain
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results