Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Another View - Worse Water - Where’s Our Governor?

Knoxville — I wrote last time about our area being such a popular place to visit – RAGBRAI®, the races, historic sites, lake and rivers, and on and on.  Yes, it’s great to see the bright side, but it’s vital to see the gaping holes in that bright view, too. And here’s a biggie – again – water quality.

We cannot keep attracting visitors here if our water continues to get worse. My grandchildren were disappointed last year when their parents read the signs above the Red Rock beach and ordered,  “No swimming here, kids.”  I was sad last week when I read our latest water test results (State Hygienic Laboratory, University of Iowa, $26):  water in our newest well is still on the edge of nitrate safety.  Not deemed safe for pregnant women.  

So it was good news that Gov. Branstad was meeting with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to discuss the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) plan for getting Iowa into compliance with federal Clean Water standards.   It’s been federal law since 1972 – about time we complied.  The bad news is that it seems to have been a closed-door meeting with invited representatives present largely from the groups responsible for Iowa’s major water pollution:  the Iowa Farm Bureau and the groups representing pork, cattle, chicken and turkey producers.  Absent were representatives for WE THE PEOPLE.  We’re the ones who can’t safely drink the water – we need to buy it in plastic bottles or pay for special cleansing measures such as Des Moines Water Works uses at a cost to customers of $7,000 a day.  And we can’t safely swim, fish, or splash in much of our water.  We would like Iowa to follow the Clean Water law.

We the people are best represented here by the Sierra Club, the Iowa Citizens for Community Improvement, and the Environmental Integrity Project.  Those three started back in 2007 to get the federal Environmental Protection Agency at work on Iowa’s non-compliance with the federal Clean Water Act.  These groups, according to the “Iowa Sierran” (8-13), used the Freedom of Information Act to find documents which “clearly show that one of the Branstad Administration’s top priorities is to shield a polluting industry from strong and effective public oversight by undermining what could be one of the most significant reforms in years to begin cracking down on factory farm pollution and cleaning up Iowa’s 628 polluted rivers, lakes, and streams.”   

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Crowds Rally at '420' Celebration in Denver Marathoners Celebrate Easter With Tradition Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results