Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 12, 2013

Another View

The Mural at the Post Office

Knoxville — Have you been to the Knoxville Post Office recently?  

If you stand in line there to mail a package and look up to the wall on your left, what do you see?  I stood and looked recently, and as if for the first time realized, “This is a mural.  It’s powerful.  I wonder what it’s about?”

So I asked.  The information sheet the postal clerk gave me had been copied too many times to be readable.  That whetted my curiosity.  He suggested the library.  I went there, inquired, and within one day they called to tell me they had found the mural book.

As surprising as discovering our post office mural, was reading about it in this 70-page collection called “New Deal Projects in Iowa” by Lea Rosson DeLong and Gregg R. Narber.  I had known about art projects from the New Deal era, but here in Knoxville, Iowa?  Yes!  Our mural is one of over 50 in the state – more proportionally that almost any other state.  

Back to our Post Office art center.  Look carefully and you can see that artist Marvin Beerbohm is portraying people in a time of great excitement.  It must be night.  There are torches.  The horses are ready, straining to move forward.  Plough and buggy are there.  Mother and child look on anxiously.  If only the title was in place, the pieces in our mental puzzle might fall in place, too.  The mural book discloses this is “Pioneer Group at the Red Rock Line – 1845.”

For all the local historic effort, particularly from Will and Susan Prather and their presentations about The Red Rock Line, we should start to remember that a “deal” was made with the native people in 1842 agreeing that native people could stay in place until 1845, but at midnight on Oct. 11, 1845, white people would be allowed to cross the “Red Rock Line” and move west.  That important Line, centered on the famous red rocks, went south to the Missouri border and further north in what is now Iowa, running close to a huge sycamore called “peace tree” – perhaps for the peace its shelter gave through centuries of meetings there among the various Indian nations.  

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Obama: 8 Million Healthcare Signups Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results