Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 15, 2013

Questions remain

I’m not going to spend the entire column trying to refute my friend Charlotte’s stance on Medicaid. There’s not much more I can add to the argument against Medicaid expansion that I have previously made, based upon common sense and facts.

This is something I do not believe Charlotte and I will agree upon.

As for her example of she and her husband, as individuals, working to overcome a deficit, my response is that this worked because the two of them WANTED to get out of a deficit. I don’t think this federal government does.

If the federal government, deep down, wants to overcome its deficit and irresponsible promises, it has shown no backbone to do so. They also seem to have no incentive to do this, as they can just keep printing more and more money, without trying to acknowledge that flooding the world with American currency makes each dollar worth less.

You can also see a letter from a Senator on this issue. It’s up to you to decide if you think it’s a good idea to expand Medicaid. I don’t believe it is a good idea (I make that decision because it is NOT a good idea.) but everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

It just baffles me how people can think spending more and more tax dollars on a health program would be a good thing or any kind of an economic stimulant...since more money for Medicaid will leave less money in people’s pockets to buy other stuff.

But, in today’s world, I guess it doesn’t matter. All you have to do is quote a study performed by an organization, perceived to be reputable and it’s accepted as fact. I received a report from the American Hospital Association on this subject.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results