Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 15, 2013

Questions remain

(Continued)

I did not have time to read it before our deadline, but it does claim that over 2,000 jobs will be created from Medicaid expansion.

Who knows? Maybe after I read this document, and follow up with these people, my mind will be changed.

Probably not.

Just a few quick questions I intend to ask of these people:

• If we expand Medicaid and medical facilities no longer have “eat” as much in uncompensated care, will the charges for everyone go down?

• If Medicaid is so great, why do so many doctors currently refuse to see Medicaid patients?

• How will your payment system be set up and/or affected if (I should say ‘when’) the federal government fails to live up to its promises?

• How can thousands of jobs be created from increased dependency on the government in an industry saddled with so many government regulations that have traditionally driven up costs?

That’s a start.

•••

Moving on to more important things, I saw “Oz: The Great and Powerful” over the weekend. This prequel to “The Wizard of Oz” was a lot of fun, and, other than a couple of scary flying monkey scenes, is good for the whole family.

I used to get freaked out by the flying monkeys in the original “Wizard of Oz” when I was really little. This new breed is downright terrifying when compared to them, but thankfully, they aren’t on screen much.

•••

I don’t know about you, but I am ready for Spring. Major League Baseball’s Spring Training has already begun. I think that should be a sign for the snow to stop.

We have not had some of the awful weather other parts of the country has dealt with, for which I am thankful, but I prefer mowing to shoveling snow.

I prefer trudging through rain on my way home, versus snow and ice.

I prefer leaving my windows open at home when I leave for work, instead of breathing in the same, stale air from the furnace.

But that’s just me.

Take care of yourself and thank you for reading.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Officials Unsure of UCLA Flood Repair Date At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results