Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 6, 2013

In the House of Wood

Vote Against Levies

Knoxville — I don't think you should vote to renew the Plant Fund or Equipment levies for Des Moines Area Community College, and I'll tell you why.

First of all, there is no physical DMACC campus in Knoxville, nor will there be. Why send Marion County tax money out of town to support this institution in such a way when DMACC receives taxpayer support from us in other ways? DMACC also charges any student who wants credits tuition, so I don't see the benefit.  

President Rob Denson said it is not a tax increase, it is a continuation of other taxes. I beg to differ.

While it may not be a tax increase for some, there are still many properties in the county who saw their valuations increase. By extension, the more valuable a property is, the more money DMACC will receive through the same levy.

Even if one does not pay property taxes, landlords and businesses have been known to pass on their increased costs. You'll pay. 

I'll admit the levy is not much when compared to one's overall tax bill. But why not take advantage of creating your own tax cut when you can? This is your opportunity. 

Another reason I believe that the levies should not be renewed is that I believe the Legislature will continue to recognize the importance of community colleges as we move forward. That will probably translate to more of your tax dollars paid to the state being allocated to them. 

At the same time, I believe the need for 1.5 million square feet of physical space for DMACC to deliver its services will diminish over time. I fully agree with Denson that there are classes taught at DMACC that will require face to face interaction, but there are going to be more and more credits earned by students over the Internet. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results