Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 20, 2012

People Talk, Who’s Listening, and What Can We Do?

Knoxville —  

To the Editor:

This letter is in regards to your article titled Rec Center expansion discussed. According to this piece our “City has approximately $400,000 in unallocated funds to use.”  Four Knoxville City Council members were quoted on how they want or don’t want to spend this money.  How about the rest of our citizens, where do you think this money could be best spent?  When I say “our citizens,” I mean people that live within our city limits, in our rural areas, and people working / shopping in Knoxville; after all could we still be a town without everyone’s support?

Nothing was mentioned about our closed theater. Did we find someone to take over this large project?  In order to transfer the old system to digital is roughly an $80,000 investment, plus the cost of the building, the updates, and the cost of the movies and snacks maybe a good $200,000 give or take a few hundred. I do have to say, who wants to move to a town without a movie theater?  Ok, maybe a small number of people that aren’t interested in the arts. 

I have heard people say, “Why can’t we have a splash pad and have FREE admission?  It doesn’t have to be some elaborate park, other places don’t charge, and why do they feel they need to put a fence around something if no pool is included?” 

I feel these are all great questions and should be answered.  Food for thought on the question about the fence around the splash pad and if safety is the factor; we don’t have one around the skate park.  This would add to an unnecessary expense because parents could supervise their young children while having a bonding experience.  

Moving right along, I heard a guy say, “If someone donated land he would dig a hole for an outdoor swimming pool.  Someone else answered back, “People want things for free.”  Ouch.  The first guy was going to donate his time and his equipment.  This reminds me of the old saying, “Time is money.”  He was reaching out for others to meet him halfway.   Anyone want to help him out on this project?

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Weather Gives Washington Firefighters Hope Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message $5M Bond Set for Teens in Homeless Killings New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Obama Calls for Immediate Access to Crash Site Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results