Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 4, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Knoxville —  

We’ve heard a lot of discussions about the federal Affordable Care Act since it was proposed nearly four years ago. Preliminary reports indicated it would provide affordable healthcare to all Americans. Iowans and Americans are now being told their insurance premiums are rising.

The same folks who passed this legislation are now continuing their push toward universal healthcare by asking the states to do their part by expanding the Medicaid program. This has been a topic of conversation at the Iowa Statehouse and it has generated concerns among my constituents who are sharing their thoughts about the federal government’s request of Iowa and the other 49 states.

Iowa’s hospitals are being saddled with unpaid debt accumulated from patients who receive care and are unable or choose not to pay their bills. I comprehend the situation our hospitals are experiencing in bad debt. I have received numerous phones calls, emails and personal contacts from the hospital officials in my district sharing this information. In some cases, that bad debt exceeds one million dollars.

Let me share my concerns about the federal government’s request to expand Medicaid. First of all our government is $16 trillion in debt. For states electing to expand Medicaid, it isn’t as easy as saying, “sure, we’re in.” The risky expansion of Medicaid comes with promises of additional money only if conditions are met.  I believe those funds could be very uncertain as the federal government struggles with its own spending issues. The reason for my skepticism is due to how the federal government has reimbursed the state in the past 10 years. Since fiscal year 2004, the federal reimbursement rate has dropped from 63.82 to 58.35 percent, which is a funding decrease of 5.47 percent.

Iowa’s expansion of Medicaid would include growing the enrollment by an additional 150,000 Iowans at a projected cost up to $537 million through 2020. Proponents see the Medicaid expansion as free federal money with few strings attached; rather, it is an unsustainable program with massive costs, few measurable outcomes, and no new solutions for making Iowans healthier. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results