Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 4, 2013

The Sinclair Report

Knoxville —  

We’ve heard a lot of discussions about the federal Affordable Care Act since it was proposed nearly four years ago. Preliminary reports indicated it would provide affordable healthcare to all Americans. Iowans and Americans are now being told their insurance premiums are rising.

The same folks who passed this legislation are now continuing their push toward universal healthcare by asking the states to do their part by expanding the Medicaid program. This has been a topic of conversation at the Iowa Statehouse and it has generated concerns among my constituents who are sharing their thoughts about the federal government’s request of Iowa and the other 49 states.

Iowa’s hospitals are being saddled with unpaid debt accumulated from patients who receive care and are unable or choose not to pay their bills. I comprehend the situation our hospitals are experiencing in bad debt. I have received numerous phones calls, emails and personal contacts from the hospital officials in my district sharing this information. In some cases, that bad debt exceeds one million dollars.

Let me share my concerns about the federal government’s request to expand Medicaid. First of all our government is $16 trillion in debt. For states electing to expand Medicaid, it isn’t as easy as saying, “sure, we’re in.” The risky expansion of Medicaid comes with promises of additional money only if conditions are met.  I believe those funds could be very uncertain as the federal government struggles with its own spending issues. The reason for my skepticism is due to how the federal government has reimbursed the state in the past 10 years. Since fiscal year 2004, the federal reimbursement rate has dropped from 63.82 to 58.35 percent, which is a funding decrease of 5.47 percent.

Iowa’s expansion of Medicaid would include growing the enrollment by an additional 150,000 Iowans at a projected cost up to $537 million through 2020. Proponents see the Medicaid expansion as free federal money with few strings attached; rather, it is an unsustainable program with massive costs, few measurable outcomes, and no new solutions for making Iowans healthier. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Marathoners Celebrate Easter With Tradition Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results