Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

July 25, 2013

In the House of Wood

Thoughts on RAGBRAI®

Knoxville — As I sit here Thursday afternoon, July 25, the first thing that comes to mind in regard to the Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa (RAGBRAI®) is that there is a core group of people who deserve a very loud, strong and ongoing applause. 

I don't see how the event in Knoxville could have been planned any better. Of course, there were things that could have run more smoothly, but who is going to think of every last detail or possible situation? 

There was the issue with the 81 portable johns in front of the Fox. I'm hoping to get answers about that. Even though her shop appeared to be the downtown bathroom, I can't say enough good things about the positive attitude Carol Martinez demonstrated with that. 

My reaction would not have been similar. Carol, as I've known for years, is just a very nice person who cares about Knoxville and its success. I don't think she's a doormat by any means, but it's been my experience that she's a better, calmer person than I. 

Notwithstanding that, I thought everything ran very well. I didn't like seeing local businesses, such as Hometown Meats, blocked by bicycle vendors. However, I understand that, much like the johns, these vendors had to go somewhere. 

In regard to the riders themselves, I struck up conversations with several. I enjoyed each of these conversations. 

I'm not exaggerating by any means. EVERY ONE of them who took the time to chat was as pleasant as can be. Not only were they friendly and polite, but all of them said Iowans (including Knoxville residents) were the nicest people they could remember encountering. 

Part of the reason I'm giving RAGBRAI organizers such kudos is because I did not hear a single complaint about the event's structure. In fact, it was just the opposite. As I noted on our Facebook page, one woman said Knoxville was the most organized town of the ride up to this point. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results