Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

March 1, 2012

Another View

Voter ID-A fraud to stop a fraud

Knoxville —  

I’ve heard the buzz about Voter ID bills over the country and thought, “Oh, Iowa won’t fall for that.”

I was way too confident.  One Voter ID bill passed the Iowa House last year and now Secretary of State Schultz has brought forth another.  Of course, we want to make sure each voter is legally entitled, but has there been a sudden outbreak of fraud?

Austin Freick, President of College and Young Democrats of Iowa says it is a costly bill and “so restrictive that nearly every student ID would not be valid at the polls, and even state-issued photo IDs given to lawmakers at the capitol do not meet these strict requirements.”  The Iowa Federation of College Republicans handed out cupcakes last week at the Statehouse to anyone who could show an ID and found that lawmakers’ IDs would not meet the proposed law’s requirements.  Both groups dramatize how difficult it would be for anyone without a driver’s license to vote.

Thirty-one states have passed Voter ID laws.  Response to a rash of fraud?  

Not according to a report from the National Republican Lawyers Association which documented all cases of voter fraud in the country over the entire last decade and found only 311 cases.  Even Secretary Schultz who introduced the Iowa bill and who oversees elections admitted no evidence of voter fraud here.  Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal said, “There is not a single county auditor who supports” this effort.

Democrat leaders say it’s an effort to defeat President Obama.  They point out that ID fraud rules as written around the country would keep out many college students, poor people, and aging seniors – all groups that gave Obama large support.  “But don’t states offer free ID’s to voters who need them?” you ask.  Yes, but the process requires more time, money, and energy than many students, seniors and working poor can afford.  When I’m too old to drive, I would like my voter registration to be enough.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results