Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 6, 2012

Let people decide on socialized medicine

Knoxville —  

To the editor:
My grandfathers were farmers. Before Pearl Harbor, they lived on unimproved roads without electricity or indoor plumbing, but they had plenty to eat, no debt and little money. They raised chickens, pigs, milked cows and butchered their own animals for pork and beef.
In 1942, one of my grandfathers was told that his heart was bad enough that he should be in a hospital. He had no means to pay for this, and the son who had helped him on the farm was then working at a defense plant near Washington, D.C. His aged mother-in-law broke a hip and came to live with them. My grandparents struggled to get the old lady to an upstairs bedroom. In a short time, both my grandfather and his wife's mother died. 
Then, doctors would make home visits. People complained about gas prices. My grandfather wished that he could use the oats that he raised to run his car. He grew most of their food, but had to have enough money to pay property taxes. 
Now, in an election year with the Supreme Court considering the Constitutionality of the health care law, there is much uncertainty. We need both political parties working together to give consideration to the people who elected them. I am tired of hearing the word “socialism” in the present political issues. I have benefitted from the use of the VA since 1946. The post office, Social Security and Medicare are all socialistic. Americans should have a choice between a single-payer health plan and one run by free enterprise. Let people choose one or the other. Our country's future may depend on a good measure of public and private programs. 
Robert Holdefer
Knoxville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results