Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 16, 2014

Traditions

There’s a tradition my niece, Brittney, and I have, and that tradition is watching stupid movies together.

We’ve done this for as long as I can remember. We laugh our tails off at these movies.

Tuesday night, we ventured out to watch “Anchorman 2” with Will Ferrell as the anchorman, Ron Burgundy. We loved the first one and knew, as soon as we heard the film was being made, that we would have to see the sequel together. It just would not have been right for either of us to see this movie without the other or with someone else. This is our thing.

I’m happy to report that we did, indeed, laugh ourselves silly. When we first arrived, the auditorium was empty. We kind of hoped it would stay that way, as we can get kind of loud. Sure enough, there were about seven other people in the room by the time it started, but they didn’t say anything to us when we got silly. Chances are, when they left, they were thinking we were a couple of oddballs. Neither Brittney nor I really care about that, though.

I love my time with Brittney, stupid movies, and combining the two. As a bonus, in this case, while being hilarious, I loved the film’s commentary on the deterioration of news content and what saturation of the market has done.

I don’t want to spoil the movie for you, so if you want to see it and want to start fresh, stop reading now.

Ron Burgundy and his team are recruited to work at the launch of a 24-hour cable news channel in 1980. It was a new thing back then and a ridiculous idea to most people. Ron is forced into the graveyard shift and to best a new rival, he decides to focus his portion of the news day on crap. Car chases, celebrity gossip and other nonsense that is unnecessary for any news outlet to discuss.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results