Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

June 6, 2013

Letter from Humane Society

Knoxville —

 

To the Editor:

When I  began to volunteer with the Marion County Humane Society (MCHS) nearly three years ago, I had little knowledge of the amount of time, effort and financial support that goes into caring for shelter animals. To say the least, my eyes have been opened after volunteering for a year, and then serving as the Assistant Director of MCHS for nearly two years. My purpose in writing this is to give the rest of the public a glimpse into the everyday happenings of a shelter and what is required to care for the animals that are brought to MCHS. In light of the recent publicity regarding contract negotiations with Marion County, I feel it is important for all to realize the vital public service provided by the hard-working staff and volunteers of MCHS and what a detriment it would be to our community and county to lose these services.

Marion County Humane Society is an independent non-profit organization providing care and adoption support for animals in need of a new home. When our new facility opened in 2008 we signed contracts with several local authorities, including Marion County, to hold and care for strays during their 7 day “hold” period. 

As with other laws and local ordinances, it is the responsibility of local authorities to provide enforcement. Marion County Humane Society does not have the staff or resources to retrieve animals who may be found running at large 24/7. Nor is it within our mission or under our auspices.

Our current contract states that we will provide “animal shelter for animals collected or impounded”. Once animals are impounded, the law requires that the animals be “held” for seven days to give their owners an opportunity to claim them. All who have ever owned pets know, as we do, that much work – including daily cleaning, exercise, feeding, and medical care – is required when “holding” pets as we await the possibility of an owner stepping forward to claim them. Many animals come in needing immediate and costly medical attention, which MCHS provides. The funds we receive from Marion County, including the $50 per animal fee, pays for this service during the first seven days of an animal’s stay with us. After that seven-day period, Iowa Law allows the animal to become the property of MCHS. At this point, our contract requirements with local authorities are fulfilled and we then use the funds we raise through countless fundraisers and individual donors to pay the cost of spay/neuter, vaccinations and continued care so that the animal can be made available for adoption. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Russell Simmons, LL Cool J Visit Youth at Jail Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian US, UN Announce Deal on Gaza Cease-Fire Despite Moratorium, Detroit Water Worries Remain Faith Leaders Arrested at DC Deportation Protest Family Dispute Cripples Northeast Grocery Chain CDC Warns Travelers Amid Ebola Outbreak US Stocks Plunge, Wiping Out July's Gains Demoted Worker Shoots CEO, Kills Self Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: 2 Hurt in NY Trench Collapse House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results