Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Breaking News

Opinion

May 17, 2013

Slices of Life: I'll do it later

“Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” Thomas Jefferson

Yeah right.

I’ve been meaning to write a column about procrastination – I just never got around to it. Besides, I’m not sure even Thomas Jefferson could abide by his own words 100 percent of the time. Most of us have succumbed to the sin of avoiding that which needs to be done at least once or twice.

I’m even betting many of us can relate to a slight modification to Jefferson’s words, quipped by Mark Twain: “Never put off till tomorrow what can be done the day after tomorrow.”

Pro-cras-ti-na-tion. The noun requires a full five syllables to get its point across. I’ve read entire sentences that were shorter. I suppose some sort of poetic symbolism exists in the fact that the word itself seems lazy and never-ending – similar to ignoring a task for days and days, or floating down the Mississippi with Huck Finn.

Procrastination is the act of doing one thing – such as napping or checking Facebook – in order to avoid something else you know you should be doing instead. Conquering the beast involves not only finishing what you start, but starting in the first place. And starting is often the hardest part.

That’s because procrastination sneaks up on you. You don’t wake up one morning and decide to ignore certain tasks. You just do (or don’t do, if we are seeking accuracy). I call this unplanned procrastination. If left unchecked it can last upwards of nine months – or more.

My front door needs painting. The wood is chipping and peeling. I bought a can of green semi-gloss over a year ago. Every weekend, when I think about painting, the weather isn’t right, or I can’t find the paintbrush, or the kids have a game or I’ve got other important things to do – like organizing the pencil drawer. By the time I’ve exhausted my arsenal of avoidance techniques, the sun is setting and I decide I might as well wait until tomorrow. Or next week. Or next month.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results